GEORGIA Development Block Grants

Georgia Department of Community Affairs

Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) Programis a federally funded block grant to states that focuses on benefiting low- to moderate-income people by providing resources for livable neighborhoods, economic empowerment, and decent housing.

Several different programs are managed through an annual allocation including the CDBG Annual Competition, the Employment Incentive Program set-aside, the Immediate Threat and Danger Set-aside (IT&D), and local Economic Development Revolving Loan Funds (RLFs). For additional information on these programs, visit the Resources Area.

Georgia has two delivery systems for the disbursement of CDBG funds.

  • Entitlements– primarily urban cities (populations 50,000 +) and urban counties (populations over 200,000)

    • The Cities of Albany, Atlanta, Brunswick, Dalton, Gainesville, Hinesville, Marietta, Rome, Roswell, Sandy Springs City, Savannah, Smyrna City, Valdosta, and Warner Robbins.
    • The Counties of Cherokee County, Clayton County, Cobb County, DeKalb County, Fulton County, Gwinnett County, and Henry County.
    • The Consolidated Governments of Athens/Clarke County, Augusta/Richmond County, Columbus Consolidated Government, and Macon/Bibb County.
    • Any incorporated city within a HUD Entitlement Urban County that has chosen to participate with the Urban County through a Cooperating Agreement.